ESPNcricinfo Reveals Pakistan’s Greatest Test XI From 1990 To 2020

Younis Khan and Misbah-ul-Haq, Younis Khan PCB
Courtesy: ©AFP

A team of experts at ESPNcricinfo revealed what they called Pakistan’s greatest Test XI from 1990 to 2020 and so, we have a look at the dream team and see if there are some surprises there.

Read: Manchester Test: Fawad Alam To Miss Out Again As Misbah-ul-Haq Likely To Play Shadab Khan

So, Who Made It To Pakistan’s Greatest Test XI

Pakistan's Greatest Test XI

Those selected included Saeed Anwar, Shahid Afridi, Younis Khan, Mohd. Yousuf, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Misbah-ul-Haq, Rashid Latif (wk), Wasim Akram (c), Saqlain Mushtaq, Waqar Younis and Mohd. Asif.

Read: Here Is What Shoaib Akhtar And Ramiz Raja Have To Say Ahead Of The Manchester Test

Any Surprises There?

Amir Sohail Wasim Akram
Image Source: Pakistani Cricket Players

Given its a Test XI; the inclusion of Shahid Afridi ahead of Amir Sohail is almost certain to raise an eyebrow or two.

Shahid Afridi’s Autobiography ‘Game Changer’, Pakistan's Greatest Test XI
Image Source: Pinterest

See, Amir could always be used as a fifth bowler and also he was pretty much a batsman capable of delivering in all conditions while Afridi was more of an opener (even during his prime) who could only be tried in sub-continent or grounds globally that provided similar conditions.

Andrew Flintoff Shoaib Akhtar, Pakistan's Greatest Test XI
Image Source: Stu Forster/Getty Images

Also the inclusion of Mohd. Asif ahead of Shoaib Akhtar is somewhat debatable.

Read: Ehsan Mani Advocates For An India-Pakistan Series

So, Is Wasim Akram The Right Person To Lead The XI

Wasim Akram, Basit Ali Imran Khan Javed Miandad
Wasim Akram
Photo Courtesy: ESPN Cricinfo

Misbah-ul-Haq might have been one of the most successful skippers that the green shirts have seen. Still, he for sure cannot lead an XI that comprises of some big names such as Saeed Anwar, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Rashid Latif (wk), Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis. So, the ESPNcricinfo panel deserves credit for having Wasim Akram as the skipper to lead the concerned XI.