First #PAKvWI Test: A Look At Pakistan’s Expected Playing XI

Hasan Ali South Africa, Shan Masood Mohd. Abbas & Haris Sohail, #PAKVRSA Hassan Ali, Waqar Younis Hasan Ali, Mohd. Rizwan and Hasan Ali, First #PAKVZIM Test, #PAKVZIM Hasan Ali, Hasan Ali, SLCPXIvPAK
Image Source:
First #PAKvWI Test is all set to begin tomorrow in Kingston and so, here is a look at Pakistan’s expected playing XI for the opening encounter.

Read: Phil Simmons Terms #PAKvWI Test Series As “Tough”

Top 3 During First #PAKvWI Test

Abid Ali Babar Azam, Pakistan's First Test Against South Africa, #PAKVSA Misbah-ul-Haq Abid Ali, First #PAKVZIM Test, First #PAKvWI Test
Image Source: Samaa TV

Pakistan is expected to stick with the opening pair of Abid Ali and Imran Butt during the first while former skipper Azhar Ali is expected to once again bat at the one down position.

Read: New Zealand To Tour Pakistan For The First Time In 18 Years

Middle And Lower Order

Fawad Alam's 3rd Test Century, First #PAKvWI Test
Image Source: ASIF HASSAN/AFP via Getty Images

Skipper Babar Azam then is likely to bat at the number four position. Fawad Alam too is expected to retain his place in the batting order at the number five position. At number six and number seven positions, it is highly likely that the green shirts will employ wicket-keeper batsman Mohd. Rizwan and all-rounder Faheem Ashraf. Nevertheless, keeping in mind Faheem’s poor form, they might as well allow Saud Shakeel a debut ahead of him.

Read: 19-Year-Old, Shehroze Kashif Becomes The Youngest Mountaineer To Summit The Mighty K2


PAKVZIM Hasan Ali, Hasan Ali Shahid Afridi Shoaib Malik, First #PAKvWI Test
Image Source: ESPNcricinfo/AFP via Getty Images

Hasan Ali and Shaheen Afridi are all set to lead Pakistan’s fast bowling department while Nauman Ali and Yasir Shah should be Pakistan’s leading spinners during the first Test of the series.

Read: A Look At Who Has Survived & Who Hasn’t After The #PAKvWI T20 Series

Pakistan’s Expected Playing XI

Pakistan then are expected to enter the game with the following players.

Abid Ali, Imran Butt, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam (c), Fawad Alam, Mohd. Rizwan, Faheem Ashraf/Saud Shakeel, Hasan Ali, Yasir Shah, Nauman Ali, Shaheen Afridi